Orchid Users are managed from within Orchid's Information Manager suite of productivity tools, which include Document Management Link and Email SmartLink.
Selected Orchid functionality is only available to Orchid Users.
Orchid User licences are allocated on a 'first come, first served' basis.
What can Orchid Users do?
Orchid Users have exclusive access to a range of Orchid functionality.
Sage 300 users who have been flagged as Orchid Users - and allocated an available Orchid User licence - can potentially access a range of Orchid functionality, including:
- Document Management Link (DML): only Orchid Users can access DML functions (e.g. viewing lists of documents linked to a Sage 300 screen, opening those documents, or adding new documents to DML).
(Note: Orchid Users were originally called 'Document Management Link Users'. Pre-existing Document Management Link Users are now automatically converted to Orchid Users.)
- Email SmartLink: Only Orchid Users can use the Email SmartLink icon on a Sage 300 screen to create an email and paste in a SmartLink (hyperlink). The recipient of the email also needs to be an Orchid User to open the SmartLink.
- Extender Workflow: Only Orchid Users can access the Workflow Console, or use a Workflow Icon configured on a Sage 300 screen to start or progress a workflow.
- Extender Log: Only Orchid Users can access Extender Log details via icons configured on Sage 300 screens.
How does Orchid User licensing work?
- Firstly, each Sage 300 user who requires access to any of the Orchid functionality described above needs to be flagged as an Orchid User. This is done by selecting Options on the Information Manager tray icon, then ticking the Orchid User checkbox.
- To enable the functionality, that user also needs to be allocated an available Orchid User licence.
There is no limit to how many users can be flagged as Orchid Users, but only the number of licences purchased will be available for concurrent use.
Orchid User licences are allocated on a 'first come, first served' basis, as users sign in to Sage 300, and are released when those users sign out.
Once the available licences have all been allocated, other users will see a 'No Available Orchid User' message.
Orchid Users are managed as part of Orchid's Information Manager suite, so Information Manager needs to be installed and activated.
In addition to Orchid User licences, specific functionality described above requires Orchid Document Management Link and/or Orchid Extender.